Wednesday, February 1, 2012

If You Like Inspirational Historical Romances...?

I think I'm supposed to get author copies soon. Yay!!

I'm looking for some honest reviews and blog stops. Is there such a thing as a "bad" review? Maybe hurtful ones but most provide a learning experience, in my opinion.

If you like to read inspirational romances or historicals or if you're just curious and would be interested in reviewing my book, I think I can send out about 20 copies. Send me an e-mail at jessica_nelson7590 AT yahoo dot com. You can find an excerpt of Love On the Range HERE.

If you'd prefer to have me as a guest poster or over for an interview, let me know. :-)

Also, I'd just like to say that I appreciate all of my blogger friends so much! You guys are wonderfully awesome and are such a part of my writing journey.

So...what do you think about reviews? Have you ever reviewed anything or been a part of a blog tour? Do you think there's such a thing as a bad review?

33 comments:

Sandra Orchard said...

Looking forward to having you guest post! I often read low-scoring reviews when considering buying a book (especially non-fic) to see what people don't like. They're usually more informative. I had one G-R's reviewer who's high rating of my book was picked up by another bookseller, except it got downgraded to 2 stars. People reading that review would have been scratching their heads. LOL

Joanne said...

I'm in the middle of planning my blog tour as well. It's a lot of fun connecting with people who want to read the story and share it on their blogs :)

Jessica Nelson said...

Sandra, that's so weird! Hmmm. At least you got a great review originally. LOL

Hi Joanne, I think it will be fun too! Best wishes to you and your tour! :-)

Wendy Paine Miller said...

So excited for you Jessica!
~ Wendy

Warren Baldwin said...

Wonderful! I'd be glad to have you do a guest post or an interview, whichever you'd like.

wb

Jessica Nelson said...

Thanks Warren and Wendy!

Lindsay Harrel said...

So excited for you, Jessica! I'd be happy to host you for an interview or guest post on my blog.

I'm sure you have a lot of work ahead of you, but it will be so worth it!

Jessica Nelson said...

Thanks Lindsay! I'm excited too. Hoping I don't swamp myself though! LOL Though it might be a lovely drowning.

Patti said...

So exciting. This is the first time I've seen your cover. I'd love to interview you on my blog.

Project Journal said...

Hey Jess!
I can't wait to read your book! I would love to get an advanced copy, if you wanted another reader. If you wanted to do a guest post or interview, you're always welcome on my blog as well : ) However, like you said I don't want you to be swamped! Lemme know how I can help, girl!
Hannah

Loree Huebner said...

Very excited for you!!

Jeanette Levellie said...

Woot, woot! Can't wait. I'd love to review your book on my blog--thanks for asking!

I think reviews are helpful, but sometimes people can be mean. We can speak the truth in love without ripping someone's baby apart!

Stacy Henrie said...

I'd love to have you guest post/interview on my blog! So cool you almost have your author copies.

Keli Gwyn said...

How exciting to be planning your release, Jessie! I'm sooo happy for you.

I'd love to have you as my blog guest in April to help promote your book.

Kara said...

Oh, I'd love a guest post or interview for my blog as well! And I'd love to review your book too:) I'll send an e-mail. I was trying to find a book to read the other night for fun and headed to Amazon. I often read the reviews before trying a new author to see if it looks like a book I'd be interested in.

Brandi said...

I am in the process of reading a book to review now. It will be my first time doing this, so I hope it goes well. The book is great.

I'd like to give you an interview. Should be fun!

Jessica Nelson said...

Awesome! Thank you ladies! I'll work up a list and contact you all (if you haven't e-mailed first)
Brandi, so glad you're enjoying the book! It's worse when you get a book to review and don't like it. Eeek! That's hard.

Julie Jarnagin said...

I'd love to post a guest post or an interview on my blog. Email me - Julie (at) JulieJarnagin (dot) com

Sarah Forgrave said...

Hi Jessica, I think I'm a little too overcommitted right now to commit to a review. But I look forward to hosting you on my blog in a couple months! :)

Anita Grace Howard said...

You KNOW I want to have you over for an interview, dear friend! This is such an exciting time!! I can't wait to follow your interview/review trail. :)

Cheryl Linn Martin said...

This is sooooo exciting, Jessica! When can we write reviews on Amazon? I've already read your story--love the Oregon connection! Aloha! --Cheryl

Angie Ledbetter said...

So SO 'cited for you!!!!!!!!!

Cheryl Linn Martin said...

Jessica, I am giving you The Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award!

You can read all about it in my post on Monday, February 6. Don’t worry, if you don’t have time to participate, that’s A-OK with me, but if you’d like to participate, here are the rules:

Thank the person who awarded you, blog about it, list seven things about yourself, and list 10 other blogs you would like to pass the award on to.

Aloha! --Cheryl

Diane said...

So excited for you and congrats!!! :O)

Beth K. Vogt said...

I'm where you are, Jessica, wondering what those first reviews -- all of 'em actually -- are gonna be like. How I'll handle the good ones and the not-so-good ones.
Excited for you!

Beth

Katie Ganshert said...

Reviews scare me. But only because I'll be getting them soon!

Can't wait to read your book, Jessica!

tammy cook said...

Jessica, I saw your post over at Goodreads CFD. How exciting to have a book out! Me and my 3 oldest children enjoy reading Love Inspired Books. I usually buy them at our library for 25 cents a piece, so I get lots :) Followin' now.

Jennifer Shirk said...

Jessica: I'm going to BUY your book for myself to read.
But I would LOVE to host you around the time of your release and have you do a giveaway on my blog, if possible.

Linda Kage said...

Oh, wow!!! You're getting your copies already, that's so exciting!!

We need pictures of you opening your box of books.

And yes, I've seen bad reviews even if they're saying something good about the story. But I've seen some very good low-rating written reviews too.

Susan J. Reinhardt said...

Hi Jess -

I technically don't do reviews. I give recommendations. Bashing authors is not my thing. If I don't like a book I've read, I might contact the author with the reasons but won't go public.

If a book shows up on my blog, you know I've read it and liked it.

Blessings,
Susan :)

Jessica Nelson said...

You guys are wonderful! I'm compiling a list and will be e-mailing soon.

Thank you Cheryl! I'll try to pop by Monday morning. :-)

Nancy said...

Your book looks wonderful. I love the cover. Congratulations on this milestone. What a huge thing. I'm so happy for you.

I have never gotten a "bad" review. Just the "not now, we don't need it" type. I also got some very good reviews. I hope nearly all of your reviews make you smile and that you learn something from the few that do not.

Janet Smart said...

This is so exciting! Congratulations on your book. I love historicals.